Indiana quarterback Nate Sudfeld is having an outstanding senior season.  image:

Indiana quarterback Nate Sudfeld is having an outstanding senior season. image:

IU Media Relations

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana senior quarterback Nate Sudfeld is one of eight semifinalists for the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy, it was announced on Tuesday. Known as "College Football's Premier Award for Community Service," the Wuerffel Trophy is presented annually by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach. 
A player speaker at the 2015 Big Ten Kickoff Luncheon, Sudfeld went on a week-long service trip to Uganda during 2015 spring break. He traveled there with his family to visit construction on an orphanage representing Assist International, the humanitarian group that his grandparents founded in 1990. Sudfeld has also volunteered with the Boys & Girls Club, the Andrew Luck/IU Health Change The Play Program and Read Across America.
Sudfeld is tied for the top spot in program history with 48 career passing touchdowns. A member of the Maxwell and Unitas Award Watch Lists, he leads the Big Ten in passing yards per game (292.7; 17th nationally), total offense per game (295.1; 20th), yards per completion (14.4; 11th) and yards per attempt (9.1; T-12th), is second in passing efficiency (155.9; 15th), and third in passing yards (2,049; 26th), TDs (14; T-32nd), completion percentage (62.8) and total offense (2,066; 37th).
Over the last two games, Sudfeld is 55-of-79 (69.6 percent) for 772 yards with seven passing touchdowns, one rushing score and a 173.4 passing efficiency rating. Against Rutgers, he set career-highs in completions (32), passing yardage (464), total yardage (456) and TDs accounted for (5), and he tied his career-highs in attempts (42) and passing scores (4) en route to a career-best 190.9 passing efficiency mark. His 464 yards are the 12th-most in the FBS and a Big Ten best in 2015, and the second-highest total in IU history.
Sudfeld is a nominee for the Senior CLASS Award®, was a semifinalist for the National Football Foundation's National Scholar-Athlete Award and a nominee for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®.
"This year again demonstrates how many tremendous young men are out there doing wonderful work in their communities," said Danny Wuerffel.  "What a difficult job we had narrowing the list down to only eight semifinalists.  These men represent the best of the best."
The Wuerffel Trophy, named after Wuerffel, the 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback from the University of Florida, is awarded to the Football Bowl Subdivision player who best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement. 
The 2015 Wuerffel Trophy Semifinalists, listed alphabetically by university:
Spencer Drango, Baylor University, senior, offensive line
Ross Martin, Duke University, senior, kicker
Nate Sudfeld, Indiana University, senior, quarterback
Landon Foster, University of Kentucky, senior, punter
Garrett Adcock, University of New Mexico, junior, offensive line
Corey Robinson, University of Notre Dame, junior, wide receiver
Ty Darlington, University of Oklahoma, senior, offensive line
Alex Zmolik, University of Toledo, senior, tight end
Voting for the Wuerffel Trophy is performed by a National Selection Committee that includes college football television and print media, industry notables, former head coaches and prior Wuerffel Trophy recipients. Three finalists will be announced on Nov. 24, 2015, and the formal announcement of the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy recipient will be on Dec. 8, 2015, at the National Football Foundation's press conference in New York City.
The 2015 Wuerffel Trophy recipient will be interviewed at "The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show" on ESPNU and ESPN3 on Dec. 10, 2015, airing at 6 p.m. EST/5 p.m. CST, featuring interviews with award winners and finalists as they approach the new location for The Home Depot College Football Awards Show, the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in downtown Atlanta, Georgia. The presentation of the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 47th Annual All Sports Association Awards Banquet on Feb. 12, 2016, in Fort Walton Beach.
Past winners of the Wuerffel Trophy are: 2014 Deterrian Shackelford, University of Mississippi; 2013 Gabe Ikard, University of Oklahoma; 2012 Matt Barkley, University of Southern California; 2011 Barrett Jones, University of Alabama; 2010 Sam Acho, University of Texas; 2009 Tim Hiller, Western Michigan University; 2008 Tim Tebow, University of Florida; 2007 Paul Smith, University of Tulsa; 2006 Joel Penton, Ohio State University; and 2005 Rudy Niswanger, Louisiana State University. 
The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association, which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast more than 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. For more information, go to For more information on the Wuerffel Trophy, visit