Simmie Cobbs Named to Maxwell Award Watch List


IU Athletics


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana junior wide receiver Simmie Cobbs, Jr., earned a spot on the watch list for the 80th annual Maxwell Award, the Maxwell Football Club announced today. Cobbs is one of just three Big Ten and 16 wideouts overall on the list.

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937. Maxwell's contributions to the game of football were extensive, including time as a player, a sportswriter and an official.

Cobbs collected 1,035 yards (3rd in the Big Ten) with 60 receptions (8th) and four touchdowns in 2015. He became the sixth Hoosier with a 1,000-yard season and ranks sixth all-time in program history. An honorable mention All-Big Ten selection, Cobbs averaged 79.6 yards (3rd), 4.6 receptions per game (9th) and 17.2 yards per catch (3rd).

The Oak Park, Ill., native led the Hoosiers in receptions, yards, yards per game, catches per game and yards per grab. Cobbs posted four 100-yard games, which shared third in the conference and fifth on Indiana's all-time list.

In league games only, he finished first with 18.1 yards per catch, second with 670 yards and 83.8 per game, and tied for ninth with 37 receptions and 4.6 per game. Cobbs led the team in catches five times (twice with game-high honors) and yardage six times (thrice).

He finished second in the Big Ten in 20-plus yard (20; T-9th nationally) and 30-plus yard (11; T-14th nationally) receptions, and tied for third in 40-plus yarders (4). A three-time IU offensive player of the week a season ago, Cobbs set career-highs with nine catches for 192 yards in the win at Maryland. The 192 yards were the second-most in the Big Ten and the eighth-most in school history.

Cobbs and the Hoosiers open the 2016 campaign at Florida International on Thursday, Sept. 1 (7:30 p.m. ET, ESPNU), and kick off their seven-game home schedule against Ball State on Saturday, Sept. 10 (noon, ESPNEWS). Indiana also hosts Wake Forest (Sept. 24), Michigan State (Oct. 1, 8 p.m., BTN), Nebraska (Oct. 15, 3:30 p.m.), Maryland (Oct. 29), Penn State (Nov. 12) and Purdue (Nov. 26). Season tickets are available by clicking here, by phone at 1-866-IUSPORTS or in person at the Assembly Hall Ticket Office. IU's full schedule is available by clicking here.

The Maxwell Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast over 722 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Oct. 31, 2016, while the three finalists will be unveiled Nov. 21, 2016. The winner of the 2016 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 8, 2016. The formal presentations of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Tropicana Hotel & Casino Atlantic City on March 10, 2017.

WR Simmie Cobbs, Jr.
Maxwell Award Watch List
1st Team All-Big Ten – Phil Steele
2nd Team All-Big Ten – Lindy's, Athlon

ORG Dan Feeney
No. 1 Offensive Guard Nationally – Phil Steele, Lindy's, USA Today
1st Team All-American – ESPN, Sporting News, Phil Steele, Lindy's, Athlon
1st Team All-Big Ten – ESPN, Sporting News, Phil Steele, Lindy's, Athlon

K Griffin Oakes
No. 6 Kicker Nationally – Lindy's
1st Team All-Big Ten – Sporting News, Phil Steele, Lindy's, Athlon

LS Dan Godsil
2nd Team All-Big Ten – Phil Steele

S Jonathan Crawford
3rd Team All-Big Ten – Athlon

LB Marcus Oliver
3rd Team All-Big Ten – Phil Steele

PR Mitchell Paige
3rd Team All-Big Ten – Phil Steele

RB Devine Redding
3rd Team All-Big Ten – Phil Steele, Athlon

DC Tom Allen
No. 8 Coordinator Hire Nationally – Athlon