Quarterback Nate Sudfeld Named As a Semifinalist for the Campbell Trophy

Written By Sammy Jacobs with segments from NFF Release

Indiana senior quarterback was announced as one of 135 semi-finalists for the 2015 William V. Campbell Trophy, which recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation. Sudfled has led the Hoosiers to their first 3-0 start since 2010. He has completed 63 percent of his passes for 938 yards with seven total touchdowns and just one interception. 

The NFF will announce 15 finalists on Oct. 29, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, presented by Fidelity Investments.

The finalists will travel to New York City for the 58th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 8, where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. At the event, one member of the class will be declared in dramatic fashion the winner of the 26th William V. Campbell Trophy and have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.

The past recipients of the William V. Campbell Trophy include: Air Force’s Chris Howard (1990); Florida’s Brad Culpepper (1991); Colorado’s Jim Hansen (1992); Virginia’s Thomas Burns (1993); Nebraska’s Rob Zatechka (1994); Ohio State’s Bobby Hoying (1995); Florida’s Danny Wuerffel (1996); Tennessee’s Peyton Manning (1997); Georgia’s Matt Stinchcomb (1998); Marshall’s Chad Pennington (1999); Nebraska’s Kyle Vanden Bosch (2000); Miami (Fla.)’s Joaquin Gonzalez (2001); Washington University in St. Louis (Mo.)’s Brandon Roberts (2002); Ohio State’s Craig Krenzel (2003); Tennessee’s Michael Munoz (2004); LSU’s Rudy Niswanger (2005); Rutgers’ Brian Leonard (2006); Texas’ Dallas Griffin (2007); California’s Alex Mack (2008); Florida’s Tim Tebow (2009); Texas’ Sam Acho (2010); Army West Point’s Andrew Rodriguez (2011); Alabama’s Barrett Jones (2012); Penn State’s John Urschel (2013); and Duke’s David Helton (2014). - 


  • 135 Nominations
  • 56th Year of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Program
  • 3.60 Average GPA
  • 52 Nominees with a 3.7 GPA or Better
  • 83 Team Captains
  • 59 All-Conference Picks
  • 24 Academic All-America Selections
  • 8 All-America Selections
  • 56 Nominees from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)
  • 23 Nominees from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision (FCS)
  • 20 Nominees from NCAA Division II
  • 27 Nominees from NCAA Division III
  • 9 Nominees from the NAIA
  • 71 Offensive Players
  • 52 Defensive Players
  • 12 Special Teams Players

- See more at: http://www.footballfoundation.org/News/NewsDetail/tabid/567/Article/55426/nff-announces-outstanding-list-of-semifinalists-for-2015-campbell-trophy-colleg.aspx#sthash.u3unO27r.dpuf