IU Senior Mitchell Paige Makes Wuerffel Award Watch List for Community Service


IU Athletics

 BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – The Wuerffel Trophy announced today that Indiana fifth-year senior wide receiver

Mitchell Paige

is on the award's 2016 Watch List.
The Wuerffel Trophy, known as "College Football's Premier Award for Community Service," is presented annually by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach Florida.  Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel from the University of Florida, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

Voting for the Wuerffel Trophy is performed by a National Selection Committee that includes college football television and print media, industry notables, former head coaches and prior Wuerffel Trophy recipients. 

In 2015, Paige led the Hoosiers with six touchdowns (T-6th in the Big Ten), finished second with 57 receptions (T-10th) and third with 684 yards (16th). He averaged 4.4 catches and 52.6 yards per game.

The Carmel, Ind., native returned 18 punts for 199 yards (5th in the Big Ten, 30th nationally), good for an 11.1 average (5th, 22nd), with two TDs (T-1st, T-2nd). His two punt return scores share a program single-season record, are tied for the second-most in school history and share the fifth-most in Big Ten history.

Off the field, Paige has participated in Read Across America and with the 2nd & 7 Foundation. He served as a motivational speaker at Bloomington's Binford Elementary After School Program and volunteered weekly at Bloomington's Highland Park Elementary School as a recess monitor. Paige has also assisted with the Monroe County Youth Football Association.

Nominations for the Wuerffel Trophy are made by the respective universities' Sports Information departments and will close on Oct. 14.  A current list of nominees can be found at www.wuerffeltrophy.org beginning Aug. 1.  Semifinalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 3 and finalists will be announced on Nov. 23. 

The formal announcement of the 2016 recipient will be on Dec. 6 at the National Football Foundation's press conference in New York City.

The presentation of the 2016 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 48th Annual All Sports Association Awards Banquet on Feb. 10, 2017 in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.

The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 23 awards boast more than 700 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.