Indiana's Ian Thomas Named Mackey Award Tight End of the Week

 Ian Thomas (80) has three touchdowns so far in 2017.  Image: Sarah Miller HoosierHuddle

Ian Thomas (80) has three touchdowns so far in 2017. Image: Sarah Miller HoosierHuddle

IU Athletics Release

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana senior tight end Ian Thomas has been named the John Mackey Award Tight End of the Week, it was announced today.
Thomas hauled in a 71-yard touchdown, the Hoosiers longest since Sept. 24, 2016, and finished with two receptions for 79 yards in IU's 52-17 victory over Georgia Southern. The Baltimore native paces the team with three TDs and is third with 11 receptions for 163 yards (14.8 average - 2nd).
His 54.3 yards per game sit second among tight ends in the Big Ten (9th nationally), while his three scores are tied for second (T-3rd nationally).
The 2017 John Mackey recipient will be announced on Dec. 6, 2017, and then presented live on Dec. 7, 2017, at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU. Other key dates include the 2017 Mackey Midseason Watch List on Oct. 10, 2017, the 2017 Mackey semifinalists on Nov. 14, 2017, and the 2017 Mackey Finalists on Nov. 21, 2017. All future announcements can be found at, on our official Twitter account: @JohnMackeyAward and also on our official Facebook
The John Mackey Tight End of the Week is an honor distinct and different from the annual John Mackey Award. This weekly honor was started in 2004 to draw attention to individual play by tight ends during the active season. The Tight End of the Week acknowledgment does not have a direct bearing on the final John Mackey Award selection process. The John Mackey Tight End of the Week honor will run until the announcement of the eight semifinalists.
The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 23 awards boast over 745 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.
The Friends of John Mackey is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Please visit for all Mackey Award related information.