Hoosier OG Dan Feeney Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

 Dan Feeney anchors a stout offensive line for the Hoosiers.  Image: IUHoosiers.com

Dan Feeney anchors a stout offensive line for the Hoosiers. Image: IUHoosiers.com

Written By Sammy Jacobs (@Hoosier_Huddle)

The offensive line is supposed to be one of the Hoosiers' biggest strengths in the 2015 season, and it is getting some much deserved recognition.

Junior offensive guard Dan Feeney has been named to the Outland Trophy Watch List. The trophy recognizes the nation's best interior offensive and defensive lineman.

Feeney has had a tremendous career as a Hoosier starting all 12 games his sophomore season and paving the way for Tevin Coleman's record setting 2,036 yard season. He was rewarded by being named to Phil Steele's first team All-Big Ten and fourth team All-America teams. 

The winner is chosen from from three finalist who are a part of the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) All-America Team. As a member of the FWAA Sammy Jacobs does get a vote for both the FWAA All-America team as well as for the Outland Trophy.  On Nov. 19 the watch list will be cut to just six or seven semifinalists and the winner will be named on Dec. 10 at the Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN. The award is named in memory of John Outland who was a standout lineman at the University of Pennsylvania in the early 1900's.

The Outland Trophy banquet is sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee and will take place on Jan. 14, 2016. 

Other Big Ten players on the list are:

  1. Jack Allen, C, Michigan State
  2. Austin Blythe, C, Iowa
  3. Maliek Collins, DT, Nebrasksa
  4. Jack Conklin, OT, Michigan State
  5. Taylor Decker, OT, Ohio State
  6. Pat Elfein, G, Ohio State
  7. Darius Hamilton DT, Rutgers
  8. Dan Voltz, C, Wisconsin
  9. Adolphus Washington, DT, Ohio State
  10. Anthony Zettel, DT, Penn State