Kicker Mitch Ewald Named to Lou Groza Award Watch List

Mitch Ewald Celebrating

Mitch Ewald Celebrating

Written By Lloyd Ribner III (@Ribner3)

Wednesday morning brought more good news for the Indiana program as senior kicker Mitch Ewald was named to the Lou Groza Award Watch List.  The Groza Award, named after the NFL Hall of Fame kicker, is presented annually to the top place kicker in the nation. Like tight End Ted Bolser yesterday, this is Ewald's third straight year appearing on the list.

Ewald had a productive junior campaign making 15 of 20 field goals to go along with converting 42 of his 43 extra point attempts.  He displayed his range throughout the year kicking season long 46-yard field goals through the uprights on two different occasions.

The Big Ten is represented by a total of four kickers on the 2013 Groza Award Watch List.  Joining Ewald in the honor are Northwestern's Jeff Brindza, Brendan Gibbons of Michigan, and Iowa's Mike Meyer.